The Ministry.—Canada's system of government is based upon that of the British, by which a Cabinet or Ministry (composed of members of the House of Commons or the Senate) is responsible to Parliament. The Cabinet is actually a committee of the King's Privy Council for Canada. Without enlarging upon the features of the system, it may be sufficient to note that the Cabinet is responsible to the House of Commons and, following established precedent, resigns office when it becomes evident that it no longer holds the confidence of the people's representatives. Members of the Cabinet are chosen by the Prime Minister; each generally assumes charge of one of the various Departments of Government, although a Minister may hold more than one portfolio at the same time, or may be without portfolio.

2.—Prime Ministers Since Confederation

Ministry	Prime Minister	Length of Administration	
1	Rt. Hon. Sir John Alexander Macdonald	July 1, 1867 - Nov. 5, 1873	
2	Hon. Alexander Mackenzie	Nov. 7, 1873 - Oct. 16, 1878	
3	Rt. Hon. Sir John Alexander Macdonald		
4	Hon. Sir John Joseph Caldwell Abbott		
5	Hon. Sir John Sparrow David Thompson	Dec. 5, 1892 - Dec. 12, 1894	
6	Hon. Sir Mackenzie Bowell	Dec. 21, 1894 - Apr. 27, 1896	
7	Rt. Hon. Sir Charles Tupper	May 1, 1896 - July 8, 1896	
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9	Rt. Hon. Sir Wilfrid Laurier	July 11, 1896 - Oct. 6, 1911	
9	Rt. Hon. Sir Robert Laird Borden	Oct. 10, 1911 - Oct. 12, 1917	
	A SECURIO SEL AUGUSTO SERVICIO A SECURIO DE CONSTITUCIO DE CONSTITUCIO DE CONTRA SERVICIO DE SERVICIO	(Conservative Administration)	
10	Rt. Hon. Sir Robert Laird Borden	Oct. 12, 1917 - July 10, 1920	
		(Unionist Administration)	
11	Rt. Hon. Arthur Meighen	July 10, 1920 - Dec. 29, 1921	
		(Unionist—"National Liberal	
		and Conservative Party")	
12	Rt. Hon. WILLIAM LYON MACKENZIE KING	Dec. 29, 1921 - June 28, 1926	
13	Rt. Hon. Arthur Meighen	June 29, 1926 - Sept. 25, 1926	
14	Rt. Hon. WILLIAM LYON MACKENZIE KING	Sept. 25, 1926 - Aug. 6, 1930	
15	Rt. Hon. RICHARD BEDFORD BENNETT		
16	Rt. Hon. WILLIAM LYON MACKENZIE KING		
17	Rt. Hon. Louis Stephen St. Laurent, K.C		

3.—Members of the Seventeenth Dominion Ministry as at Nov. 15, 1948

(According to precedence of Ministers)

Note.—A complete list of the members of Dominion Ministries from Confederation to 1913 appears in the 1912 Year Book, pp. 422-429. Later Ministries will be found in the corresponding tables of subsequent editions of the Year Book. Parliamentary Assistants to the Cabinet Ministers are indicated by footnotes to Table 9.

Office	Occupant	Date of Appointment ¹	
Prime Minister and President of the Privy Council	Rt. Hon. Louis Stephen St. Laurent, K.C.	∫Dec. 10, 1941	
Minister of Trade and Commerce	Rt. Hon. CLARENCE DECATUR HOWE	(Jan. 19, 1948	
Minister of Agriculture	Rt. Hon. James Garfield Gardiner Hon. James Angus MacKinnon	Jan. 23, 1939 June 11, 1948	
Secretary of State	Hon. Colin William George Girson, M.C., K.C., V.D.	July 8, 1940 Dec. 12, 1946	
Minister of Labour	Hon, Alphonse Fournier, K.C		
Minister of National Defence	Hon. Brooke Claxton, K.C	Oct. 13, 1944 Dec. 12, 1946	
Solicitor General	Hon. Joseph Arthur Jean, K.C	Apr. 18, 1945	

For footnote, see end of table, p. 82.